Skip to content

Various - Bullshit Detector (LP, 45 RPM, Compilation, Reissue, Remastered)

SKU: 5016958994846
Regular price $ 49.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Backordered. We anticipate to be able to ship within 10 business days.


Bullshit Detector was the name of a series of compilation LPs put together by the anarcho-punk band Crass and released on their Crass Records label. Three editions were released between 1980 and 1984, consisting of demo tapes, rough recordings, and artwork that had been sent to the band. The sound quality of the Bullshit Detector series was mixed, and was often very basic or poor as Crass would master the tapes directly to record without any additional production or enhancement. For Crass, the expectation of a polished performance was missing the point of the DIY punk ethic: "Don't expect music when the melody is anger, when the message sings defiance, three chords are frustration when the words are from the heart"– Sleeve notes from Bullshit Detector Volume 3 The title Bullshit Detector was derived as a reference to the Clash song "Garageland" from their first LP The Clash, a song covered by Chumbawamba guitarist Boffo on the second volume. The series is notable for marking the first appearance on vinyl of Napalm Death (on the third volume). The POWER sleeve with marker pen art was designed by Haggis, AKA David Hargreaves lead singer of Youthanasia PX A fourth, unofficial Bullshit Detector, this time an international compilation, was released by the Swiss independent anarcho-punk record label Resistance Productions in 1994. There have also been records released in a similar style and with similar sentiment such as the 'Bullsheep Detector' compilation of Welsh punk bands released in 2012.

Release Info

Artist: Various
Label: Crass Records
Format: LP, 45 RPM, Compilation, Reissue, Remastered
Country: UK
Label: Crass Records
Released: 2023-06-30
Genre: Electronic, Rock
Style: Punk, Experimental


A1 Jazz On A Summers Day
A2 Don't Wanna Fight For You
A3 Change It
A4 We Are You
A5 Girls Love Popstars
A6 Do They Owe Us A Living
A7 University Challenged
A8 Local Chaos
A9 Mark Of The Beast
A10 Thalidomide
A11 Cancer
A12 Why
A13 Anarchist Attack
B1 Right Or Wrong
B2 Morning Star
B3 '3'
B4 Khaki Doesn't Go With My Eyes
B5 Soldiers
B6 National Service
B7 Who Needs Society
B8 War Song
B9 Power
B10 Napalm
B11 Nagasaki Mon Amour
B12 Drumming Up Hope (Ferret Skank)

Added to cart