Skip to content

Various, Andrew Lloyd Webber & Tim Rice* - Jesus Christ Superstar (2LP, Limited Edition, Misprint, Reissue, Remastered, Stereo)

SKU: 600753933343
Regular price $ 71.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Backordered. We anticipate to be able to ship within 10 business days.


Jesus Christ Superstar is a sung-through rock opera with music by Andrew Lloyd Webber and lyrics by Tim Rice. Loosely based on the Gospels' accounts of the Passion, the work interprets the psychology of Jesus and other characters, with much of the plot centered on Judas, who is dissatisfied with the direction in which Jesus is steering his disciples. Contemporary attitudes, sensibilities, and slang pervade the rock opera's lyrics, and ironic allusions to modern life are scattered throughout the depiction of political events. Stage and film productions accordingly contain many intentional anachronisms.

Initially unable to get backing for a stage production, the composers released it as a concept album, the success of which led to the show's Broadway on-stage debut in 1971. By 1980, the musical had grossed more than $237 million worldwide. Running for over eight years in London between 1972 and 1980, it held the record for longest-running West End musical before it was overtaken by Cats in 1989.

Release info

Label: Geffen Records 0600753933343
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Misprint, Reissue, Remastered, Stereo
Country: Germany
Released: 2021
Genre: Rock, Stage & Screen
Style: Classic Rock, Musical


A1 Overture
A2 Heaven On Their Minds
A3 What's The Buzz / Strange Thing Mystifying
A4 Everything's Alright
A5 This Jesus Must Die
B1 Hosanna
B2 Simon Zealotes / Poor Jerusalem
B3 Pilate's Dream
B4 The Temple
B5 Everything's Alright
B6 I Don't Know How To Love Him
B7 Damned For All Time / Blood Money
C1 The Last Supper
C2 Gethsemane (I Only Want To Say)
C3 The Arrest
C4 Peter's Denial
C5 Pilate And Christ
C6 King Herod's Song (Try It And See)
D1 Judas' Death
D2 Trial Before Pilate (Including The 39 Lashes)
D3 Superstar
D4 Crucifixion
D5 John Nineteen: Forty One

Added to cart