Skip to content

Remmy Ongala & Orchestre Super Matimila - Songs For The Poor Man (Reissue, Stereo)

SKU: 884108008898
Regular price $ 45.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Backordered. Delivery will take longer than expected.


Songs for the Poor Man is the first studio album and second album overall by Tanzanian soukous musician Remmy Ongala and his band Orchestre Super Matimila, released in 1989 on Real World Records. The album follows Ongala's acclaimed appearances at the WOMAD Tour and WOMAD'S release of Naillia Mwana, a compilation of early music by Ongala, two events that gave Ongala international recognition. Songs for the Poor Man was recorded at the WOMAD-affiliated Real World Studios in Wiltshire over three days in May 1989 with production, engineering, and mixing help from David Bottrill.

The album exemplifies Ongala and the band's move towards a soukous-style sound while being more sparse and broadened than conventional soukous and adding elements of East African funk, Latin and Caribbean music, as well as making prominent usage of conga parts to double its guitar lines. Ongala's lyrics deal with social issues such as urban poverty in Tanzania and racism. Upon release, Songs for the Poor Man won critical acclaim from critics, praising the album's conviction and passion. Robert Christgau named it the 8th greatest album of 1989, and Tom Moon included it in the book 1,000 Recordings to Hear Before You Die.

Release info

Label: Real World Records LPRW6AFS
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Stereo
Country: UK & Europe
Released: 2022
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: African


A1 Nasikitika
A2 Karola
A3 Kipenda Roho
B1 Usingizi
B2 Muziki Asili Yake Wapi
B3 Mariam Wangu

Added to cart