Skip to content

Paul Simon - Graceland (The Remixes) (2LP)

SKU: 190758466118
Regular price $ 46.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Sold out - New inventory is on its way.


Graceland is the seventh solo studio album by American singer-songwriter Paul Simon. It was produced by Simon, engineered by Roy Halee, and released on August 25, 1986, by Warner Bros. Records.

Following a successful but fraught reunion with his musical partner Art Garfunkel, Simon's marriage had fallen apart and his previous record, Hearts, and Bones (1983), was a commercial failure. In 1984, after a period of depression, Simon became fascinated by a bootleg cassette of South African township music. He and Halee visited Johannesburg, where they spent two weeks recording with South African musicians.

Recorded in 1985 and 1986, Graceland features an eclectic mixture of genres, including pop, rock, a cappella, zydeco, isicathamiya, and mbaqanga. Simon created new compositions inspired by the recordings made in Johannesburg, collaborating with African and American artists. He received criticism for seemingly breaking the cultural boycott imposed against South Africa because of its policy of apartheid. Following its completion, Simon toured alongside South African musicians, combining their music and the music of Graceland.

Graceland became Simon's most successful studio album and his highest-charting album in over a decade; it is estimated to have sold up to 16 million copies worldwide. It was lauded by critics, won the 1987 Grammy Award for Album of the Year, and is frequently cited as one of the best albums of all time. In 2007, it was added to the National Recording Registry as "culturally, historically, or aesthetically important".

Release Info

Label: Legacy 19075846611
Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Country: US
Released: 2018
Genre: Electronic, Pop, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Vocal, House, Dance-pop, Techno


A1 Homeless (Joris Voorn Remix)
A2 Gumboots (Joyce Muniz Remix)
A3 I Know What I Know (Sharam's Motherland Mix)
B1 Crazy Love, Vol. II (Paul Oakenfold Extended Remix)
B2 The Boy In The Bubble (Richy Ahmed Remix)
B3 You Can Call Me Al (Groove Armada Dub Redemption)
C1 Under African Skies (Rich Pinder/Djoko Vocal Mix)
C2 Graceland (MK's KC Lights Remix)
C3 That Was Your Mother (Gui Boratto Remix)
D1 Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes (Thievery Corporation Remix)
D2 All Around The World Or The Myth Of Fingerprints (Photek Remix)
D3 Homeless (Joris Voorn Kitchen Table Mix / The Duke Of New York's Edit)

Added to cart