Skip to content

Marianne Faithfull - Come And Stay With Me - The UK 45s 1964-1969 (2LP)

SKU: 018771853312
Regular price $ 64.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Sold out - New inventory is on its way.


Marianne Evelyn Gabriel Faithfull (born 29 December 1946) is an English singer, songwriter, and actress. She achieved popularity in the 1960s with the release of her hit single "As Tears Go By" and became one of the lead female artists during the British Invasion in the United States. Born in Hampstead, London, Marianne Faithfull began her career in 1964 after attending a Rolling Stones party, where she was discovered by Andrew Loog Oldham. After the release of her hit single "As Tears Go By", she became an international star. Her debut album Marianne Faithfull (1965) (released simultaneously with her album Come My Way) was a commercial success followed by a number of albums on Decca Records. From 1966 to 1970, she had a highly publicised romantic relationship with Mick Jagger. Her popularity was further enhanced by her film roles, such as I'll Never Forget What's'isname (1967), The Girl on a Motorcycle (1968), and Hamlet (1969). However, her popularity was overshadowed by personal problems in the 1970s. During that time she was anorexic, homeless, and a heroin addict. Noted for her distinctive voice, Marianne Faithfull's previously melodic and higher registered vocals (which were prevalent throughout her career in the 1960s) were affected by severe laryngitis, coupled with persistent drug abuse during the 1970s, permanently altering her voice, leaving it raspy, cracked and lower in pitch. This new sound was praised as "whisky soaked" by some critics for helping capture the raw emotions expressed in her music. After a long commercial absence, Marianne Faithfull made a comeback with the 1979 release of her critically acclaimed album Broken English. The album was a commercial success and marked a resurgence of her musical career. Broken English earned Faithfull a nomination for Grammy Award for Best Female Rock Vocal Performance and is often regarded as her "definitive recording". She followed with a series of albums, including Dangerous Acquaintances (1981), A Child's Adventure (1983), and Strange Weather (1987). Faithfull also wrote three books about her life: Faithfull: An Autobiography (1994), Memories, Dreams & Reflections (2007), and Marianne Faithfull: A Life on Record (2014). Marianne Faithfull is listed on VH1's "100 Greatest Women of Rock and Roll" list. She received the World Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2009 Women's World Awards and was made a Commandeur of the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the government of France.

Release info

Label: ABKCO 8533-1
Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Country: US
Released: 2020
Genre: Rock, Pop, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Pop Rock, Soft Rock, Ballad


A1 As Tears Go By
A2 Greensleeves
A3 Blowin' In The Wind
A4 House Of The Rising Sun
A5 Come And Stay With Me
A6 What Have I Done Wrong
B1 This Little Bird
B2 Morning Sun
B3 Go Away From My World
B4 The Most Of What Is Least
B5 Et Maintenant (What Now My Love?)
B6 The Sha La La Song
C1 Summer Nights
C2 Yesterday
C3 Oh Look Around You
C4 Tomorrow's Calling
C5 That's Right Baby
C6 Counting
D1 I'd Like To Dial Your Number
D2 Is This What I Get For Loving You?
D3 Something Better
D4 Sister Morphine

Added to cart