Skip to content

Lauryn Hill - The Miseducation Of Lauryn Hill (2LP, Reissue)

SKU: 888751942219
Regular price $ 50.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Sold out - New inventory is on its way.


The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill is the debut solo album by American singer and rapper Lauryn Hill. It was released on August 25, 1998, by Ruffhouse Records and Columbia Records. The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill is a neo-soul and R&B album with some songs based on hip-hop soul and reggae. Its lyrics touch upon Hill's pregnancy and the turmoil within her former group the Fugees, along with themes of love and God. The album's title was inspired by the film and autobiographical novel The Education of Sonny Carson, and Carter G. Woodson's The Mis-Education of the Negro. After touring with the Fugees, Hill became involved in a romantic relationship with Jamaican entrepreneur Rohan Marley, and shortly after, became pregnant with their child. This pregnancy, as well as other circumstances in her life, inspired Hill to make a solo album. Recording sessions for the album took place from late 1997 to June 1998 mainly at Tuff Gong Studios in Kingston, as Hill collaborated with a group of musicians known as New Ark in writing and producing the songs. The album debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 chart, selling over 422,000 copies in its first week, which broke a record for first-week sales by a female artist. It was promoted with the release of the hit singles "Doo Wop (That Thing)", "Ex-Factor", and "Everything Is Everything", while "Lost Ones" and "Can't Take My Eyes Off You" were released as promotional singles. To further promote the album, Hill made televised performances on Saturday Night Live and the Billboard Music Awards before embarking on a sold-out, worldwide concert tour. The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill was among the most acclaimed albums of 1998, as most critics praised Hill's presentation of a woman's view on life and love, along with her artistic range. At the 41st Annual Grammy Awards, The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill earned 10 nominations, winning five awards, making Hill the first woman to receive that many nominations and awards in one night. The album's success propelled Hill to international superstardom and contributed to bringing hip-hop and neo-soul to the forefront of popular music. New Ark, however, felt Hill and her record label did not properly credit the group on the album; a lawsuit filed by the group was settled out of court in 2001. Since its release, the album has been ranked in numerous best-album lists, with a number of critics regarding it as one of the greatest albums of the 1990s, as well as one of the greatest albums of all time. Among its honors is inclusion in Rolling Stone magazine's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time list, Harvard University's Loeb Music Library, the Smithsonian National Museum of African American history, and the Library of Congress's National Recording Registry. In 2021, the album was certified Diamond by the Recording Industry Association of America, for estimated sales of 10 million copies in the US, making Hill the first female rapper to accomplish this feat. Worldwide, the album has sold over 20 million copies, making it one of the best-selling albums of all time, the best-selling album by a female rapper, and the best-selling neo-soul album of all time. It remains Hill's only studio album.

Release Info

Artist: Lauryn Hill
Label: Ruffhouse Records
Format: LP, Album, Reissue
Country: Europe
Label: Ruffhouse Records
Released: 2016
Genre: Hip Hop, Funk / Soul
Style: Pop Rap, Neo Soul, Contemporary R&B, Conscious


A1 Intro
A2 Lost Ones
A3 Ex-Factor
A4 To Zion
A5 Doo Wop (That Thing)
B1 Superstar
B2 Final Hour
B3 When It Hurts So Bad
B4 I Used To Love Him
C1 Forgive Them Father
C2 Every Ghetto, Every City
C3 Nothing Even Matters
D1 Everything Is Everything
D2 The Miseducation Of Lauryn Hill
D3 Can't Take My Eyes Off You
D4 Tell Him

Added to cart