Skip to content

John Coltrane - 1963: New Directions (5LP, Compilation)

Regular price $ 219.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Funky Moose: not in stock.
Our supplier: In stock.
We can ship your order within 10 business days.


John William Coltrane (September 23, 1926 – July 17, 1967) was an American jazz saxophonist, bandleader, and composer. He is among the most influential and acclaimed figures in the history of jazz and 20th-century music.

Born and raised in North Carolina, Coltrane moved to Philadelphia after graduating high school, where he studied music. Working in the bebop and hard bop idioms early in his career, Coltrane helped pioneer the use of modes and was one of the players at the forefront of free jazz. He led at least fifty recording sessions and appeared on many albums by other musicians, including trumpeter Miles Davis and pianist Thelonious Monk. Over the course of his career, Coltrane's music took on an increasingly spiritual dimension, as exemplified in his most acclaimed album A Love Supreme (1965), and others. Decades after his death, Coltrane remains influential, and he has received numerous posthumous awards, including a special Pulitzer Prize, and was canonized by the African Orthodox Church.

His second wife was pianist and harpist Alice Coltrane. The couple had three children: John Jr. (1964–1982), a bassist; Ravi (born 1965), a saxophonist; and Oran (born 1967), a saxophonist, guitarist, drummer, and singer.

Release Info

Artist: John Coltrane
Label: Impulse!
Format: Compilation
Country: US
Label: Impulse!
Released: 2018-12-07
Genre: Jazz
Style: Bop, Modal, Free Jazz


A1 Vilia (Take 3)
A2 Vilia (Take 5)
A3 Untitled Original 11383 (Take 1)
A4 Nature Boy
B1 Impressions (Take 1)
B2 Impressions (Take 2)
B3 Impressions (Take 3)
B4 Impressions (Take 4)
C1 Untitled Original 11386 (Take 1)
C2 Untitled Original 11386 (Take 2)
C3 Untitled Original 11386 (Take 5)
D1 One Up, One Down (Take 1)
D2 One Up, One Down (Take 6)
D3 Slow Blues
E1 They Say It's Wonderful
E2 Lush Life
E3 My One And Only Love
E4 Autumn Serenade
E5 Dedicated To You
F1 You Are Too Beautiful
F2 After The Rain
F3 Dear Old Stockholm
F4 I Want To Talk About You
G1 My Favorite Things
H1 Impressions
I1 The Promise
I2 I Want To Talk About You
J1 Afro Blue
J2 Your Lady
J3 Alabama

Added to cart