Skip to content

A.R. Kane - Americana (LP, Compilation, Reissue)

SKU: 680899000819
Regular price $ 60.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Backordered. Delivery will take longer than expected.


A.R. Kane (sometimes AR Kane or A.R.Kane) was a British musical duo formed in 1986 by Alex Ayuli and Rudy Tambala. After releasing two early EPs to critical acclaim, the group topped the UK Independent Chart with their debut album 69 (1988). Their second album, "i" (1989), was also a top 10 hit. They were also part of the one-off collaboration MARRS, whose surprise dance hit "Pump Up the Volume" was released in 1987. Ayuli is believed to have coined the term "dreampop" in the late 1980s to describe their eclectic sound, which blended distorted guitars, dub production, and drum machines.The group broke up in 1994. Though their work fell into relative obscurity in subsequent years, they have been characterised by critics as among the most innovative and underrated groups of their era, and recognized as an influence on styles such as shoegaze, trip hop, and post-rock. In 2012, One Little Indian released Complete Singles Collection, which compiled the group's single and EP releases. Tambala briefly reformed A.R. Kane from 2016 to 2018 with Maggie Tambala and guitarist Andy Taylor but without Ayuli. This reformation was later spun-off as its own band, Jübl, which has since released two singles and a studio album.

Release Info

Artist: A.R. Kane
Label: Luaka Bop
Format: LP, Compilation, Reissue
Country: UK
Label: Luaka Bop
Released: 2022-04-23
Genre: Electronic, Rock
Style: Leftfield, Dub, Synth-pop, Ethereal, Art Rock, Dream Pop


A1 A Love From Outer Space
A2 Snow Joke
A3 Baby Milk Snatcher
A4 The Madonna Is With Child
B1 In A Circle
B2 Miles Apart
B3 Green Hazed Daze
B4 Water
B5 Long Body
C1 Up
C2 Super Vixens
C3 Spook
D1 Crack Up
D2 And I Say
D3 Sperm Whale Trip Over
D4 Untitled

Added to cart