Skip to content
Weezer Release First Track From Bill & Ted Face the Music Soundtrack

Weezer Release First Track From Bill & Ted Face the Music Soundtrack

The first Bill & Ted movie is due to be released on August 28 and it seems like people are just as excited about the soundtrack as they are about the movie. Today, Weezer released the first song from the soundtrack, “Beginning of the End”.

 Photo Credit: Billboard

“Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventures” was a favorite with 90’s rockers. It revolved around the story of stoner friends Theodore “Ted” Logan (Keanu Reeves) and Bill Preston Esq. (Alex Winters) and their fictional band Wyld Stallyns.


The next movie finds the two married and reuniting for one last mission; to find and record the song that will save music and unite the world. Along the way, there are appearances from famous musicians like Dave Grohl, Kid Cudi and Arcade Fire’s Win Butler.


With the plot and era of the original movie in mind, it should come as no surprise that Weezer should be a band prominently featured on the soundtrack. Other notable bands that are featured include Mastodon, Lamb of God, Fidlar and The Cold War Kids.


Weezer first teased a snippet of the song earlier this week on their Twitter account. Today it is out on all platforms. It starts out slowly and then builds to an anthemic crescendo. Even though it rocks, it has a distinct doo-wop influence.


In fact, when listening closely to the vocal line, you can detect a melody line that very much resembles Billy Joel’s ‘The Longest Time’. The band even gave Joel songwriting credit for the track. Weezer singer Rivers Cuomo explained that giving credit was “just a clearance thing” and added “I don’t think Billy Joel’s written a song since the 90’s.”


Lyrically, Weezer’s song talks of an apocalyptic time that fits the theme of the movie.


“Nostradamus predicted a bomb would drop

And our guitars will be humming in an old pawn shop

Watch us brush off the dust

In heavy metal we trust

Then kick back and red the Sunday Times


My head is spinning

It’s the beginning of the end.”


In other Weezer news, the band is planning a release of their new album Van Weezer which will also feature “Beginning of the End”. It has been indefinitely postponed due to the coronavirus. However, they did release a stripped down piano version of their song “Hero” earlier this summer (July 30).


The release was dedicated to the frontline workers combatting the coronavirus as Weezer partnered with Postmates to send meals to LA’s Good Samaritan Hospital.


The full soundtrack for the new Bill & Ted movie will release the same day as the movie premier, August 28. We can’t wait to hear all the tracks. The full track list is as follows.


  1. Big Black Delta – "Lost in Time"
    2. Alec Wigdahl – "Big Red Balloon"
    3. Weezer - "Beginning Of The End (Wyld Stallyns Edit)"
    4. Cold War Kids - "Story Of Our Lives"
    5. Mastodon - "Rufus Lives"
    6. Big Black Delta - "Circuits Of Time"
    7. POORSTACY - "Darkest Night"
    8. Lamb Of God – "The Death Of Us"
    9. FIDLAR - "Breaker"
    10. Culture Wars - "Leave Me Alone"
    11. Blame My Youth - "Right Where You Belong"
    12. Wyld Stallyns (feat. Animals As Leaders, Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah) - "Face The Music"
    13. Wyld Stallyns - "That Which Binds Us Through Time: The Chemical, Physical and Biological Nature of Love; an Exploration of The Meaning of Meaning, Part 1"
Older Post
Newer Post

Added to cart