Skip to content

Various - The Little Mermaid (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Picture Disc, Reissue)

SKU: 050087304133
Regular price $ 29.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Backordered. Delivery will take longer than expected.


The Little Mermaid: Original Walt Disney Records Soundtrack is the soundtrack to the 1989 Disney animated feature film, The Little Mermaid. It contains the songs from the film written by Alan Menken and Howard Ashman, as well as the film's score composed by Alan Menken. The score was orchestrated by Thomas Pasatieri. The album has achieved multi-platinum sales and won the Grammy Award for Best Recording for Children. The album includes recordings of the music that won the Grammy for Best Instrumental Composition Written for a Motion Picture or for Television ("Under the Sea"), the Academy Awards for Best Original Score and Best Original Song ("Under the Sea") and the Golden Globe Award for Best Original Score.

The soundtrack was first released by Walt Disney Records on October 19, 1989, on both CD and cassette tape. On November 22, 1994, the album was included in a four-disc box set entitled The Music Behind the Magic: The Musical Artistry of Alan Menken, Howard Ashman & Tim Rice. The box set included work tapes and demos intertwined into the finished original soundtrack. The soundtrack (without the demos and work tapes) was re-released with different artwork, on October 14, 1997, and it was released internationally on October 31, 2000, in a double pack with The Little Mermaid II soundtrack. On October 3, 2006, a new two-disc special edition version of the soundtrack was released to correspond with the two-disc Platinum Edition DVD release of The Little Mermaid. The first disc remains identical to the original release, yet with remastered audio while the newly added second disc is composed of various newly recorded versions of the film's songs by different artists, such as Ashley Tisdale, Raven-Symoné, The Jonas Brothers, and Jessica Simpson. It also included two music videos, as well as new cover art. The Legacy Collection: The Little Mermaid was released as a two-disc album on November 24, 2014, to coincide with the film's twenty-fifth anniversary.

Release Info

Label: Walt Disney Records D001988501
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Picture Disc, Reissue
Country: US
Released: 2014
Genre: Children's, Stage & Screen
Style: Score, Musical


A1 Fathoms Below
A2 Main Titles
A3 Fanfare
A4 Daughters Of Triton
A5 Part Of Your World
A6 Under The Sea
A7 Part Of Your World (Reprise)
A8 Poor Unfortunate Souls
A9 Les Poissons
A10 Kiss The Girl
B1 Fireworks
B2 Jig
B3 The Storm
B4 Destruction Of The Grotto
B5 Flotsam And Jetsam
B6 Tour Of The Kingdom
B7 Bedtime
B8 Wedding Announcement
B9 Eric To The Rescue
B10 Happy Ending

Added to cart