Free shipping starts on orders over $99 $76 to most locations in Canada! More info...

Various - Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber Of Fleet Street (The Motion Picture Soundtrack) (LP, Album)

Regular price $ 47.95

Normally ships within 5-10 business days. (More info)
Need a quick gift? Check out our digital gift cards.


Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street: The Motion Picture Soundtrack is a soundtrack to the film of the same name, released on December 18, 2007. In a change from the original, Sondheim cut the show's famous opening number, "The Ballad of Sweeney Todd", explaining, "Why have a chorus singing about 'attending the tale of Sweeney Todd' when you could just go ahead and attend it?" Sondheim acknowledged that, in adapting a musical to film, the plot has to be kept moving, and was sent MP3 files of his shortened songs by Mike Higham, the film's music producer, for approval. Several other songs were also cut, and Sondheim noted that there were "many changes, additions and deletions... [though]... if you just go along with it, I think you'll have a spectacular time." To create a larger, more cinematic feel, the score was reorchestrated by the stage musical's original orchestrator, Jonathan Tunick, who increased the orchestra from twenty-seven musicians to seventy-eight. The Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street Deluxe Complete Edition soundtrack was released on December 18, 2007. Johnny Depp's singing was described by a New York Times reviewer as "harsh and thin, but amazingly forceful". Another critic adds that, though Depp's voice "does not have much heft or power", "his ear is obviously excellent, because his pitch is dead-on accurate... Beyond his good pitch and phrasing, the expressive colorings of his singing are crucial to the portrayal. Beneath this Sweeney's vacant, sullen exterior is a man consumed with a murderous rage that threatens to burst forth every time he slowly takes a breath and is poised to speak. Yet when he sings, his voice crackles and breaks with sadness."

Release Info

Artist: Various
Label: Nonesuch
Format: LP, Album
Country: US
Label: Nonesuch
Released: 2020-11-13
Genre: Stage & Screen
Style: Soundtrack, Musical


A1 Opening Title
A2 No Place Like London
A3 The Worst Pies In London
A4 Poor Thing
A5 My Friends
B1 Green Finch And Linnet Bird
B2 Alms! Alms!
B3 Johanna
B4 Pirelli's Miracle Elixir
B5 The Contest
B6 Wait
B7 Ladies In Their Sensitivities
B8 Pretty Women
C1 Epiphany
C2 A Little Priest
C3 Johanna
C4 God, That's Good!
D1 By The Sea
D2 Not While I'm Around
D3 Final Scene

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
Close (esc)

Join the herd

Subscribe to our newsletter and get 10% off your first purchase.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now