Free shipping starts on orders over $99 $76 to most locations in Canada! More info...

Tin Machine - Tin Machine II (Reissue, Stereo, 180gram)

Regular price $ 41.95


Tin Machine II is the second and final studio album by the Anglo-American rock group Tin Machine, released on 2 September 1991 through Victory Music in association with London Records. The band, composed of English singer-songwriter David Bowie, and Reeves Gabrels on guitar, and brothers Tony Fox and Hunt Sales on bass and drums, respectively, recorded it in Sydney, Australia in late 1989 at the conclusion of the Tin Machine Tour. After Bowie completed his solo Sound+Vision Tour in late 1990, recording resumed in Los Angeles, California until March 1991. The production was handled by Tin Machine and Tim Palmer, who produced their eponymous debut studio album (1989), with additional production by Hugh Padgham on "One Shot". While the album musically retains a hard rock sound, the songs are more melodic compared to their predecessor, with lyrics focusing on love. The cover artwork features four Greek Kouroi and was controversial in the US due to the statues' genitalia. Tin Machine II received mostly mixed reviews from music critics, with many highlighting individual tracks but considering the project as a whole mediocre. Some recognized it as an improvement over Tin Machine. Supported by three singles, the former peaked at number 23 in the UK and number 126 in the US. The band's accompanying It's My Life Tour received mixed reviews; a live album from the tour, Tin Machine Live: Oy Vey, Baby, was released in 1992. At the tour's completion, Tin Machine disbanded and Bowie resumed his solo career, releasing his eighteenth studio album, Black Tie White Noise (1993). Gabrels remained Bowie's collaborator for the rest of the 1990s. Bowie's biographers have given Tin Machine II mixed reactions, with most recognizing it as inconsistent in quality and panning two tracks sung by Hunt Sales. The album was reissued for the first time in 2020 on both vinyl and CD.

Release Info

Label: Music On Vinyl – MOVLP2715
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Stereo, 180g
Country: Europe
Released: Jul 31, 2020
Genre: Rock
Style: Alternative Rock


A1 Baby Universal
A2 One Shot
A3 You Belong In Rock N' Roll
A4 If There Is Something
A5 Amlapura
A6 Betty Wrong
B1 You Can't Talk
B2 Stateside
B3 Shopping For Girls
B4 A Big Hurt
B5 Sorry
B6 Goodbye Mr. Ed
B7 Hammerhead

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
Close (esc)

Join the herd

Subscribe to our newsletter and get 10% off your first purchase.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now