Skip to content

Thrice - The Illusion Of Safety (LP, Album, Reissue)

Regular price $ 39.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Funky Moose: not in stock.
Our supplier: In stock.
We can ship your order within 10 business days.


The Illusion of Safety is the second studio album by American rock band Thrice. It was released on February 5, 2002 through Sub City Records, who the band had previously reissued their debut studio album Identity Crisis (2000) through. They wrote new songs at a rate of two per month, prior to recording in July 2001. Sessions were held at Salad Days Studios with producer Brian McTernan. The Illusion of Safety is a melodic hardcore and post-hardcore album, with a reoccurring topic of death and religious references. The Illusion of Safety received generally positive reviews from music critics, some of whom praised the album's mix of styles. It sold 4,202 copies during its first week of release, reaching the top 20 on the Billboard Independent and Heatseekers Album charts. Thrice promoted the album with a tour with Anti-Flag and Against All Authority, before playing a few shows with Further Seems Forever. A music video was filmed for "Betrayal is a Symptom", prior to the band supporting Face to Face, and embarking on a headlining tour of the United States. A music video for "Deadbolt" was posted online, leading to a co-headlining US tour with Hot Water Music.

Release Info

Artist: Thrice
Label: Sub City Records
Format: LP, Album, Reissue
Country: US
Label: Sub City Records
Released: 2023-03-10
Genre: Rock
Style: Hardcore, Emo


A1 Kill Me Quickly
A2 A Subtle Dagger
A3 See You In The Shallows
A4 Betrayal Is A Symptom
A5 Deadbolt
A6 In Years To Come
A7 The Red Death
A8 A Living Dance Upon Dead Minds
B1 Where Idols Once Stood
B2 Trust
B3 To Awake And Avenge The Dead
B4 So Strange I Remember You
B5 The Beltsville Crucible
B6 That Hideous Strength (Bonus Track)

Added to cart