Skip to content

The Who - Hits 50! (2LP, Reissue, Remastered)

SKU: 602537940516
Regular price $ 48.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Backordered. Delivery will take longer than expected.


The Who Hits 50! is a compilation of singles by the English rock band The Who, released in 2014 by Polydor Records. The two-disc set contains every single released by the band in the United Kingdom, with the exceptions of: "A Legal Matter" and "La-La-La-Lies" from 1966; and "Long Live Rock" and the remake of "I'm One" from 1979. At the same time it also contains every single by the band released in the United States throughout their career, with the exceptions of: "The Real Me" from 1974; the reissue of "Substitute" from 1976; and "Long Live Rock" from 1979. A condensed single-disc standard edition appeared as well, both versions in conjunction with the band's 50th anniversary and associated tour of the same name. The album is notable for containing singles generally not included on other compilation albums, such as the band's Rolling Stones cover "The Last Time" done as an act of solidarity while Mick and Keith were facing jail time, along with other lesser-known singles "Dogs" and "Call Me Lightning".

The first disc includes every song from the compilation Meaty Beaty Big and Bouncy with the exception "A Legal Matter," and the second disc includes "Be Lucky", a track released as a single in support of the compilation and recorded during 2014 sessions for a proposed new studio album. The song is the first new material released by the Who since their 2006 studio album Endless Wire.

The selections were remastered by Jon Astley, and the cover art and packaging reflects the band's association with the pop art of the 1960s. On the two-disc set, the liner notes incorrectly list Pete Townshend as the writer of the track "Trick of the Light" when it was in fact written by John Entwistle.

Release info

Label: Geffen Records B0022495-01
Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Reissue, Remastered
Country: US
Released: 2015
Genre: Rock, Pop
Style: Rock & Roll, Arena Rock, Classic Rock, Mod, Pop Rock


A1 Zoot Suit
A2 I Can't Explain
A3 Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere
A4 My Generation
A5 Substitute
A6 I'm A Boy
B1 Happy Jack
B2 Pictures Of Lily
B3 I Can See For Miles
B4 Magic Bus
B5 Pinball Wizard
C1 The Seeker
C2 Won't Get Fooled Again (Single Edit)
C3 Baba O'Riley
C4 Bargain
C5 Join Together
D1 5:15
D2 Squeeze Box
D3 Who Are You
D4 Real Good-Looking Boy
D5 Be Lucky

Added to cart