Free shipping starts on orders over $99 $76 to most locations in Canada! More info...

The Rolling Stones - Tattoo You (Stereo)

Regular price $ 263.95


Tattoo You is the 16th British and 18th American studio album by the English rock band the Rolling Stones, released on 24 August 1981 by Rolling Stones Records. The album is mostly composed of studio outtakes recorded during the 1970s, and contains one of the band's most well-known songs, "Start Me Up", which hit number two on the US Billboard singles charts. A combination of touring obligations and personal feuding between band members made it difficult to arrange dedicated recording sessions for the band's follow-up to 1980's Emotional Rescue. As a result, the band's production team combed through unused recordings from prior sessions, some dating back almost a decade. While a few of the songs were used essentially as-is in their original form, most of these earlier recordings were not complete, consisting of song fragments requiring much work. Studio time was booked throughout 1980 and 1981 and band members came in when available to finish off the tracks. The credited members of the Rolling Stones for the album were vocalist Mick Jagger, guitarists Keith Richards and Ronnie Wood, bassist Bill Wyman and drummer Charlie Watts, though two tracks feature former Stones guitarist Mick Taylor. Keyboardists Nicky Hopkins, Billy Preston and Ian Stewart also appear on the album. The album proved to be both a critical and commercial success upon release, reaching the top of the US Billboard 200. To date, it is the final Rolling Stones album to reach the top position of the US charts, thus concluding the band's string of eight consecutive number-one albums there, dating back to 1971's Sticky Fingers. In 1989, it was ranked No. 34 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 100 greatest albums of the 1980s. In 2003, the album was ranked number 211 on Rolling Stone's list of The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time, then re-ranked number 213 in the 2012 revised list. Peter Corriston, who was responsible for the album cover's concept origination, art direction and design, won a Grammy Award in the category of Best Album Package. A remastered 40th-anniversary edition of the album was released on 22 October 2021. It features nine previously unreleased tracks and a 1982 concert at Wembley Stadium.

Release Info

Artist: The Rolling Stones
Label: Polydor
Format: Stereo
Country: Worldwide
Label: Polydor
Released: 2021-10-22
Genre: Rock
Style: Rock & Roll, Blues Rock, Classic Rock


Tattoo You (2021 Remaster)
A1 Start Me Up
A2 Hang Fire
A3 Slave
A4 Little T&A
A5 Black Limousine
A6 Neighbours
B1 Worried About You
B2 Tops
B3 Heaven
B4 No Use In Crying
B5 Waiting On A Friend
Lost & Found: Rarities
C1 Living In The Heart Of Love
C2 Fiji Jim
C3 Troubles A' Comin
C4 Shame, Shame, Shame
C5 Drift Away
D1 It's A Lie
D2 Come To The Ball
D3 Fast Talking, Slow Walking
D4 Start Me Up (Early Version)
"Still Life" (Wembley Stadium 1982)
E1 Under My Thumb
E2 When The Whip Comes Down
E3 Let's Spend The Night Together
E4 Shattered
E5 Neighbours
F1 Black Limousine
F2 Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)
F3 Twenty Flight Rock
F4 Going To A Go-Go
G1 Chantilly Lace
G2 Let Me Go
G3 Time Is On My Side
G4 Beast Of Burden
H1 Let It Bleed
H2 You Can't Always Get What You Want
H3 Band Introductions
H4 Little T&A
I1 Tumbling Dice
I2 She's So Cold
I3 Hang Fire
I4 Miss You
I5 Honky Tonk Women
J1 Brown Sugar
J2 Start Me Up
J3 Jumpin' Jack Flash
J4 (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
Close (esc)

Join the herd

Subscribe to our newsletter and get 10% off your first purchase.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now