Free shipping starts on orders over $99 $76 to most locations in Canada! More info...

The Meters - A Message From The Meters (The Complete Josie, Reprise & Warner Bros. Singles 1968-1977) (LP, Compilation, Stereo, Mono)

Regular price $ 104.95


The Meters are an American funk band formed in 1965 in New Orleans by Zigaboo Modeliste (drums), George Porter Jr. (bass), Leo Nocentelli (guitar) and Art Neville (keyboards). The band performed and recorded their own music from the late 1960s until 1977 and played an influential role as backing musicians for other artists, including Lee Dorsey, Robert Palmer, Dr. John, and Allen Toussaint. Their original songs "Cissy Strut" and "Look-Ka Py Py" are considered funk classics.While they rarely enjoyed significant mainstream success, they are considered originators of funk along with artists like James Brown, and their work is influential on many other bands, both their contemporaries and modern musicians. Their sound is defined by a combination of tight melodic grooves and syncopated New Orleans "second line" rhythms under highly charged guitar and keyboard riffing. The band has been nominated four times for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, most recently in 2017. In 2018 the band was presented with the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award.

Release Info

Artist: The Meters
Label: Real Gone Music
Format: LP, Compilation, Stereo, Mono
Country: US
Label: Real Gone Music
Released: 2017-10-29
Genre: Funk / Soul
Style: Funk, Bayou Funk


A1 Sophisticated Cissy
A2 Sehorns Farms
A3 Cissy Strut
A4 Here Comes The Meter Man
A5 Ease Back
A6 Ann
A7 Dry Spell
A8 Little Old Money Maker
B1 Look-Ka Py Py
B2 This Is My Last Affair
B3 Chicken Strut
B4 Hey! Last Minute
B5 Hand Clapping Song
B6 Joog
C1 A Message From The Meters
C2 Zony Mash
C3 Stretch Your Rubber Band
C4 Groovy Lady
C5 (The World Is A Bit Under The Weather) Doodle-Oop
C6 I Need More Time
C7 Good Old Funky Music
C8 Sassy Lady
D1 Do The Dirt
D2 Smiling
D3 Cabbage Alley
D4 The Flower
D5 Chug Chug Chug-A-Log (Push N' Shove) (Part I)
D6 Chug Chug Chug-A-Lug (Push N' Shove) (Part II)
E1 Hey Pocky A-Way
E2 Africa
E3 People Say
E4 Loving You Is On My Mind
E5 They All Ask'd For You
E6 Running Fast (Long Version)
F1 Disco Is The Thing Today
F2 Mr. Moon
F3 Trick Bag
F4 Find Yourself
F5 Be My Lady
F6 No More Okey Doke

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
Close (esc)

Join the herd

Subscribe to our newsletter and get 10% off your first purchase.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now