Free shipping starts on orders over $99 $76 to most locations in Canada! More info...

The Allman Brothers Band - Collected (LP, Compilation, Repress)

Regular price $ 56.95


The Allman Brothers Band is the debut studio album by American rock band the Allman Brothers Band. It was released in the United States by Atco Records and Capricorn Records on November 4, 1969, and produced by Adrian Barber. Formed in 1969, the Allman Brothers Band came together following various musical pursuits by each individual member. Following session work, Duane Allman moved to Jacksonville, Florida where he led large jam sessions with his new band, one he had envisioned as having two guitarists and two drummers. After rounding out the lineup with the addition of his brother, Gregg Allman, the band moved to Macon, Georgia, where they were to be one of the premiere acts on Capricorn. The album was recorded and mixed in two weeks at Atlantic Studios in New York City. Much of its material was premiered live over the preceding months and combines blues, jazz and country music to varying degrees. It includes re-workings of "Trouble No More" and "Don't Want You No More," as well as notable originals such as "Dreams", which highlighted the band's jazz influence, and "Whipping Post", which became a crowd favorite. Although the group was arranged to work with producer Tom Dowd (whose credits included Cream and John Coltrane), he was unavailable, and they instead recorded with house engineer Adrian Barber. The album's artwork was photographed in Macon and surrounding areas. The record initially received a poor commercial response, charting in the lower levels of Billboard's Top 200 Pop Albums chart. Despite this, the album received critical acclaim from publications such as Rolling Stone, who called it "subtle, and honest, and moving." Following the band's increased fame in the early 1970s, this album and its follow-up, Idlewild South (1970), were repackaged into the compilation album Beginnings. Owing to the band's dislike of Barber's original mix, their debut album was remixed by Tom Dowd. In 1973, Beginnings was certified gold for sales of 500,000 copies, according to the Recording Industry Association of America.In 2016 a Deluxe version of the album was released by Mercury Records that contained the "Original Stereo Mix by Adrian Barber" from 1969 and the "Beginnings" Stereo Mix by Tom Dowd from 1973.

Release Info

Artist: The Allman Brothers Band
Label: Universal Music
Format: LP, Compilation, Repress
Country: Europe
Label: Universal Music
Released: 2019-11-01
Genre: Rock
Style: Classic Rock, Blues Rock, Southern Rock


A1 Dreams
A2 Revival
A3 Midnight Rider
A4 In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed
A5 Statesboro Blues
B1 Melissa
B2 One Way Out
B3 Ramblin' Man
B4 Jessica
B5 Win, Lose Or Draw
C1 Crazy Love
C2 Just Ain't Easy
C3 Angeline
C4 Straight From The Heart
C5 Good Clean Fun
C6 All Night Train
D1 Crossroads
D2 Ain't No Good To Cry
D3 Goin Down Slow
D4 These Days
D5 The Dark End Of The Street

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
Close (esc)

Join the herd

Subscribe to our newsletter and get 10% off your first purchase.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now