Skip to content

Subhumans - The Day The Country Died (LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered, Purple Vinyl)

SKU: 810096651815
Regular price $ 61.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Sold out - New inventory is on its way.


The Day the Country Died is the debut studio album by English anarcho-punk band Subhumans. It was recorded in five days in June 1982 and was released in January 1983 through Spiderleg Records. The album was later re-released via Bluurg, the band's own record label. The album is influenced by the novel Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell. The most obvious sign of such an influence is the song "Big Brother"; Big Brother is the dictatorial political leader figure in Orwell's novel. The song revolves around how "Big Brother is watching you", and when Dick Lucas sings "there's a TV in my front room and it's screwing up my head", it is a comparison between the telescreen in the novel which monitored citizens constantly and excessive viewing of mass media. Today, there is a huge amount of video surveillance in the United Kingdom, showing the foresight of this subject matter. Like the novel, the album has dystopian overtones. It also describes a world ravaged by war, most likely our world which arguably is, this is suggested by track titles such as "Dying World" and "All Gone Dead". The latter contains lyrics like "So long to the world, that's what they said, it's 1984 and it's all gone dead", which can be seen as another reference to Nineteen Eighty-Four. The Day the Country Died is widely regarded as a classic punk rock album.

Release Info

Artist: Subhumans
Label: Pirates Press Records
Format: LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered
Label: Pirates Press Records
Released: 2023-03-03
Genre: Rock
Style: Punk


A1 All Gone Dead
A2 Ashtray Dirt
A3 Killing
A4 Minority
A5 Mickey Mouse Is Dead
A6 Nothing I Can Do
A7 Dying World
A8 Subvert City
B1 Big Brother
B2 New Age
B3 I Don't Wanna Die
B4 No
B5 Zyklon-B-Movie
B6 'Til The Pigs Come Round
B7 No More Gigs
B8 Black And White

Added to cart