FREE shipping starts on orders over $99 to most locations in Canada.

Rush - Permanent Waves (3LP, Deluxe Edition, Reissue, Remastered)

Regular price $ 102.95

Normally ships within 5-10 business days. (More info)
Need a quick gift? Check out our digital gift cards.


Permanent Waves is the seventh studio album by the Canadian rock band Rush, released on January 14, 1980, through Anthem Records. After touring to support their previous album, Hemispheres (1978), the band regrouped in July 1979 to work on material for a follow-up. This period marked a shift in the group's sound characterized by more concise arrangements and radio friendly songs, such as "The Spirit of Radio" and "Freewill", though their progressive rock blueprint is still evident with the nearly ten-minute closer "Natural Science". The two former tracks were performed live before Rush entered the studio. Permanent Waves was recorded later in 1979 at Le Studio in Morin-Heights, Quebec with production handled by the group and Terry Brown.

Permanent Waves received a mostly positive reception from critics, and became the band's most successful album at the time of release, reaching No. 3 in Canada and the UK and No. 4 in the US. The album was certified platinum in the latter by the Recording Industry Association of America for selling one million copies. Rush released "The Spirit of Radio" as a single in March 1980 and toured in support of the album in 1979 and 1980.

Release info

Label: Mercury B0031582-01
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Deluxe Edition, Reissue, Remastered, Stereo
Country: US
Released: 2020
Genre: Rock
Style: Prog Rock


A1 The Spirit Of Radio
A2 Freewill
A3 Jacob's Ladder
B1 Entre Nous
B2 Different Strings
B3 Natural Science
C1 Beneath, Between & Behind (Live In Manchester)
C2 By-Tor & The Snow Dog (Live In London)
C3 Xanadu (Live In London)
D1 The Spirit Of Radio (Live in Manchester)
D2 Natural Science (Live In Manchester)
D3 A Passage To Bangkok (Live In Manchester)
D4 The Trees (Live In Manchester)
E1 Cygnus X-1 (Live In London)
E2 Cygnus X-1 Book II (Live In London)
F1 Closer To The Heart (Live In Manchester)
F2 Jacob’s Ladder (Live In Missouri)
F3 Freewill (Live In London)

Close (esc)


Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now