Free shipping starts on orders over $99 $76 to most locations in Canada! More info...

Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Souvenir (LP, Compilation)

Regular price $ 72.95

Normally ships within 5-10 business days. (More info)
Need a quick gift? Check out our digital gift cards.


Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (OMD) are an English electronic band formed in Wirral, Merseyside, in 1978. The group consists of co-founders Andy McCluskey (vocals, bass guitar) and Paul Humphreys (keyboards, vocals), along with Martin Cooper (keyboards, saxophone) and Stuart Kershaw (drums); McCluskey has been the only constant member. Regarded as pioneers of electronic music, OMD combined an experimental, minimalist ethos with pop sensibilities, becoming key figures in the late-1970s/early-1980s emergence of synth-pop. The band were also one of the original acts involved in the MTV-driven Second British Invasion of the US. McCluskey and Humphreys led precursor group the Id from 1977–1978, and re-recorded their track "Electricity" as OMD's debut single in 1979. Weathering an "uncool" image and a degree of hostility from music critics, the band achieved popularity throughout Europe with the 1980 anti-war song "Enola Gay", and gained further recognition via Architecture & Morality (1981) and its three hit singles. Although later reappraised, Dazzle Ships (1983) was seen as overly experimental, and eroded European support. The group embraced a more radio-friendly sound on Junk Culture (1984); this change in direction led to greater success in the United States, and spawned hits including "If You Leave" (from the 1986 film Pretty in Pink). In 1989, creative differences saw Humphreys and other members form the spin-off band the Listening Pool, leaving McCluskey the only remaining member of OMD. The group returned with a new line-up and explored the dance-pop genre: Sugar Tax (1991) and its initial singles were hits in Europe. OMD then began to flounder amid the guitar-oriented grunge and Britpop movements, eventually disbanding in 1996. McCluskey later conceived girl group Atomic Kitten, for whom he served as a principal songwriter and producer, while Humphreys formed the duo Onetwo alongside lead vocalist Claudia Brücken of Propaganda. In 2006, OMD reformed with Humphreys and McCluskey revisiting the experimental territory of their early work; the band have achieved 13 top-20 entries on the UK Albums Chart. Their 20th century output yielded 18 top-40 appearances on the UK Singles Chart, as well as four top-40 entries on the US Billboard Hot 100. Although sometimes identified as a cult band, OMD have sold over 40 million records worldwide, and have influenced many artists across diverse genres and disciplines.

Release Info

Artist: Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark
Label: Virgin EMI Records
Format: LP, Compilation
Country: Europe
Label: Virgin EMI Records
Released: 2019-10-04
Genre: Electronic, Pop
Style: Synth-pop


A1 Electricity
A2 Red Frame/White Light
A3 Messages
A4 Enola Gay
A5 Souvenir
A6 Joan Of Arc
A7 Maid Of Orleans
B1 Genetic Engineering
B2 Telegraph
B3 Locomotion
B4 Talking Loud & Clear
B5 Tesla Girls
B6 Never Turn Away
B7 So In Love
C1 Secret
C2 La Femme Accident
C3 If You Leave
C4 (Forever) Live & Die
C5 We Love You
C6 Shame
C7 Dreaming
D1 Sailing On The Seven Seas
D2 Pandora's Box (It's A Long, Long Way)
D3 Then You Turn Away
D4 Call My Name
D5 Stand Above Me
D6 Dream Of Me
E1 Everyday
E2 Walking On The Milky Way
E3 Universal
E4 If You Want It
E5 Sister Marie Says
E6 History Of Modern (Part 1)
F1 Metroland
F2 Dresden
F3 Night Cafe
F4 Isotype
F5 The Punishment Of Luxury
F6 What Have We Done
F7 Don't Go

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
Close (esc)

Join the herd

Subscribe to our newsletter and get 10% off your first purchase.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now