Skip to content

Muse - Simulation Theory

SKU: 190295578831
Regular price $ 39.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Sold out - New inventory is on its way.


Simulation Theory is the eighth studio album by the English rock band Muse. It was released on 9 November 2018 through Warner Bros. Records and Helium-3. Muse co-produced the album with Rich Costey, Mike Elizondo, Shellback, and Timbaland. Following the darker themes of Muse's prior albums, Simulation Theory incorporates lighter influences from science fiction and 1980s pop culture, with extensive use of synthesizers. The contemporary political climate of the United States informed the lyrics.

Rather than working on the album as a whole, Muse focused on recording a single track at a time. Recording began at AIR Studios in London in early 2017 with Elizondo, before embarking on a tour of North America. Production restarted in Los Angeles in late 2017 with Costey, who previously produced Muse's albums Absolution (2003) and Black Holes and Revelations (2006).

The album cover, designed by Stranger Things artist Kyle Lambert, and its music videos homage to 1980s pop culture such as Back to the Future, Michael Jackson's Thriller, and Teen Wolf. Simulation Theory was preceded by the release of singles "Dig Down", "Thought Contagion", "Something Human", "The Dark Side", and "Pressure", along with a 2018 festival tour of North America. It was released in a standard edition alongside two deluxe editions featuring alternate versions of its tracks. A world tour of North America and Europe took place in 2019 to support the album. The album received generally mixed reviews.

Release Info

Label: Warner Bros. Records 0190295578831
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: Europe
Released: 2018
Genre: Rock
Style: Alternative Rock, Space Rock


A1 Algorithm
A2 The Dark Side
A3 Pressure
A4 Propaganda
A5 Break It To Me
A6 Something Human
B1 Thought Contagion
B2 Get Up And Fight
B3 Blockades
B4 Dig Down
B5 The Void

Added to cart