FREE shipping starts on orders over $99 to most locations in Canada.

Johnny Winter - The Progressive Blues Experiment (Reissue, Remastered)

Regular price $ 63.95

Normally ships within 5-10 business days. (More info)
Need a quick gift? Check out our digital gift cards.


The Progressive Blues Experiment is the debut album by Johnny Winter. The Progressive Blues Experiment was originally issued on Austin's Sonobeat Records label in 1968. When Winter signed to Columbia Records, the rights were sold to Imperial Records who reissued the album in 1969.

Winter plays here in a trio with his late-sixties band. Several blues artists are covered including B.B. King ("It's My Own Fault"), Sonny Boy Williamson ("Help Me"), and Slim Harpo ("I Got Love If You Want It").

The Imperial edition of the album reached number 40 on the Billboard 200 albums chart. In 2005, Capitol issued a 24-bit remastered edition of this recording on CD.

Release info

Label: Friday Music FRM-82431
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered
Country: US
Released: 2020
Genre: Blues
Style: Texas Blues


A1 Rollin And Tumblin'
A2 Tribute To Muddy
A3 I Got Love If You Want It
A4 Bad Luck And Trouble
A5 Help Me
B1 Mean Town Blues
B2 Brown Down Engine
B3 Black Cat Bone
B4 It's My Own Fault
B5 Forty-Four

Close (esc)


Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now