Skip to content

John Mellencamp - The Best That I Could Do (1978-1988) (2LP, Compilation, Limited Edition)

SKU: 602567720133
Regular price $ 47.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Backordered. We anticipate to be able to ship within 10 business days.


The Best That I Could Do 1978–1988 is the first greatest hits compilation album by American singer-songwriter John Mellencamp, released by Mercury Records in 1997 (see 1997 in music). It compiles Mellencamp's most popular material recorded during his first decade with Riva and Mercury Records, beginning with 1978's A Biography, up through 1987's The Lonesome Jubilee, with a new recording of Terry Reid's "Without Expression". Mellencamp picked the songs for the album and also came up with the title for the album. The album reached #33 on the Billboard 200. This album and Rough Harvest came about because, after leaving Mercury Records for Columbia Records, Mellencamp still owed the label two more albums.

Release Info

Label: Mercury 00602567720133
Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Limited Edition
Country: Europe
Released: 2018
Genre: Rock
Style: Rock & Roll, Hard Rock, Pop Rock


A1 I Need A Lover
A2 Ain't Even Done With The Night
A3 Hurts So Good
A4 Jack And Diane
B1 Crumblin' Down
B2 Pink Houses
B3 Authority Song
C1 Lonely Ol' Night
C2 Small Town
C3 R.O.C.K. In The U.S.A.
D1 Paper In Fire
D2 Cherry Bomb
D3 Check It Out
D4 Without Expression

Added to cart