Skip to content

Hank Williams - I'm Gonna Sing: The Mother's Best Gospel Radio Recordings (LP)

SKU: 4050538693089
Regular price $ 55.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Backordered. Delivery will take longer than expected.


Hank Williams (born Hiram Williams; September 17, 1923 – January 1, 1953) was an American singer, songwriter, and musician. Regarded as one of the most significant and influential American singers and songwriters of the 20th century, he recorded 55 singles (five released posthumously) that reached the top 10 of the Billboard Country & Western Best Sellers chart, including 12 that reached No. 1 (three posthumously). Born and raised in Alabama, Williams was given guitar lessons by African-American blues musician Rufus Payne in exchange for meals or money. Payne, along with Roy Acuff and Ernest Tubb, had a major influence on Williams' later musical style. Williams began his music career in Montgomery in 1937, when producers at local radio station WSFA hired him to perform and host a 15-minute program. He formed the Drifting Cowboys backup band, which was managed by his mother, and dropped out of school to devote his time to his career. When several of his band members were drafted during World War II, he had trouble with their replacements, and WSFA terminated his contract because of his alcoholism. Williams married singer Audrey Sheppard, who was his manager for nearly a decade. After recording "Never Again" and "Honky Tonkin'" with Sterling Records, he signed a contract with MGM Records. In 1947, he released "Move It on Over", which became a hit, and also joined the Louisiana Hayride radio program. One year later, he released a cover of "Lovesick Blues", a huge country hit, which propelled him to stardom on the Grand Ole Opry. He was unable to read or notate music to any significant degree. Among the hits he wrote were "Your Cheatin' Heart", "Hey, Good Lookin'", and "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry". Years of back pain, alcoholism, and prescription drug abuse severely compromised Williams' health. In 1952, he divorced Sheppard and married singer Billie Jean Horton. He was dismissed by the Grand Ole Opry because of his unreliability and alcoholism. On New Year's Day 1953, he suffered from heart failure and died suddenly at the age of 29 on the way to Oak Hill, West Virginia. Despite his relatively brief career, he is one of the most celebrated and influential musicians of the 20th century, especially in country music. Many artists have covered his songs and he has influenced Elvis Presley, Bob Dylan, Johnny Cash, Chuck Berry, Jerry Lee Lewis, George Jones, George Strait, Charley Pride, The Beatles and the Rolling Stones, among others. Williams was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 1961, the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 1970, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1987, and the Native American Music Awards Hall of Fame in 1999. The Pulitzer Prize jury awarded him a posthumous special citation in 2010 for his "craftsmanship as a songwriter who expressed universal feelings with poignant simplicity and played a pivotal role in transforming country music into a major musical and cultural force in American life".

Release Info

Artist: Hank Williams
Label: BMG Rights Management
Format: LP
Country: US
Label: BMG Rights Management
Released: 2022-03-11
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Country


A1 I Am Bound for the Promised Land (2019 - Remaster)
A2 I'll Fly Away (Acetate Version 21) [2019 - Remaster]
A3 Thirty Pieces of Silver (2019 - Remaster)
A4 The Old Country Church (2019 - Remaster)
A5 Jesus Died For Me (2019 - Remaster)
A6 Thy Burdens Are Greater Than Mine (2019 - Remaster)
B1 Searching for a Soldier's Grave (2019 - Remaster)
B2 Something Got Hold Of Me (2019 - Remaster)
B3 When God Dips His Love in My Heart (2019 - Remaster)
B4 Lord Build Me a Cabin (2019 - Remaster)
B5 Drifting Too Far from the Shore (2019 - Remaster)
B6 That Beautiful Home (2019 - Remaster)
B7 I'm Gonna Sing (Acetate Version 157) [2019 - Remaster]
C1 Lonely Tombs (Oh Those Tombs) [Acetate Version 7] [2019 - Remaster]
C2 How Can You Refuse Him (2019 - Remaster)
C3 Where He Leads Me (2019 - Remaster)
C4 At the Cross (2019 - Remaster)
C5 The Blind Child's Prayer (2019 - Remaster)
C6 I Saw the Light (Acetate Version 3) [2019 - Remaster]
C7 Farther Along (2019 - Remaster)
D1 Gathering Flowers for the Master's Bouquet (Acetate Version 14) [2019 - Remaster]
D2 I'll Have a New Life (Acetate Version 29) [2019 - Remaster]
D3 Precious Lord Take My Hand (2019 - Remaster)
D4 I Heard My Mother Praying for Me (Acetate Version 4) [2019 - Remaster]
D5 Steal Away / the Funeral (2019 - Remaster)
D6 From Jerusalem to Jericho (2019 - Remaster)
D7 I've Got a One-Way Ticket to the Sky (2019 - Remaster)
E1 I Dreamed That the Great Judgement Morning (2019 - Remaster)
E2 Softly and Tenderly (2019 - Remaster)
E3 Where the Soul Never Dies (2019 - Remaster)
E4 When the Fire Comes Down from Heaven (2019 - Remaster)
E5 I Dreamed About Mama Last Night (Acetate Version 24) [2019 - Remaster]
E6 The Prodigal Son (2019 - Remaster)
F1 Jesus Remembered Me (2019 - Remaster)
F2 Dust on the Bible (2019 - Remaster)
F3 Dear Brother (Acetate Version 5) [2019 - Remaster]
F4 The Pale Horse and His Rider (2019 - Remaster)
F5 I Heard My Savior Calling Me (Acetate Version 147) [2019 - Remaster]
F6 Wait for the Light to Shine (Acetate Version 24) [2019 - Remaster]
F7 When the Saints Go Marching in (2019 - Remaster)

Added to cart