Skip to content

Georges Brassens - J'ai Rendez-Vous Avec Vous (LP, Compilation, Remastered)

SKU: 600753715727
Regular price $ 43.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Sold out - New inventory is on its way.


Georges Charles Brassens (French pronunciation: ​[ʒɔʁʒ(ə) ʃaʁl bʁasɛ̃s]; 22 October 1921 – 29 October 1981) was a French singer-songwriter and poet. As an iconic figure in France, he achieved fame through his elegant songs with their harmonically complex music for voice and guitar and articulate, diverse lyrics. He is considered one of France's most accomplished postwar poets. He has also set to music poems by both well-known and relatively obscure poets, including Louis Aragon (Il n'y a pas d'amour heureux), Victor Hugo (La Légende de la Nonne, Gastibelza), Paul Verlaine, Jean Richepin, François Villon (La Ballade des Dames du Temps Jadis), and Antoine Pol (Les Passantes). During World War II, he was forced by the Germans to work in a labor camp at a BMW aircraft engine plant in Basdorf near Berlin in Germany (March 1943). Here Brassens met some of his future friends, such as Pierre Onténiente, whom he called Gibraltar because he was "steady as a rock." They would later become close friends. After being given ten days' sick leave in France, he decided not to return to the labor camp. Brassens took refuge in a small cul-de-sac called "Impasse Florimont," in the 14th arrondissement of Paris, a popular district, where he lived for several years with its owner, Jeanne Planche, a friend of his aunt. Planche lived with her husband Marcel in relative poverty: without gas, running water, or electricity. Brassens remained hidden there until the end of the war five months later, but ended up staying for 22 years. Planche was the inspiration for Brassens's song Jeanne. He wrote and sang, with his guitar, more than a hundred of his poems. Between 1952 and 1976, he recorded fourteen albums that include several popular French songs such as Les copains d'abord, Chanson pour l'Auvergnat, La mauvaise réputation, and Mourir pour des idées. Most of his texts are tinged with black humour and are often anarchist-minded. In 1967, he received the Grand Prix de Poésie of the Académie française. Apart from Paris and Sète, he lived in Crespières (near Paris) and in Lézardrieux (Brittany).

Release Info

Artist: Georges Brassens
Label: Mercury Records
Format: LP, Compilation, Remastered
Country: France
Label: Mercury Records
Released: 2016
Genre: Pop
Style: Chanson


A1 La Mauvaise Réputatuion
A2 Le Gorille
A3 La Chasse Aux Papillons
A4 Le Parapluie
A5 Le Petit Cheval
A6 Brave Margot
A7 La Cane De Jeanne
B1 Les Amoureux Des Bancs Publics
B2 Chanson Pour L'Auvergnat
B3 Le Mauvais Sujet Repenti
B4 Les Sabots D'Hélène
B5 P... De Toi
B6 Une Jolie Fleur
B7 Au Près De Mon Arbre
C1 Je Me Suis Fait Tout Petit
C2 la Femme D'hector
C3 Le Pornographe
C4 Les Funérailles D'antan
C5 Dans L'eau de la Claire Fontaine
C6 Le Temps Ne Fait Rien A L'affaire
D1 Les Trompettes de la Renommée
D2 Les Copains D'abord
D3 Supplique Pour Être Enterré A La Plage de Sete
D4 Fernande

Added to cart