Free shipping starts on orders over $99 $76 to most locations in Canada! More info...

Deep Purple - Live In California '74 (LP)

Regular price $ 58.95


Live in California 74 is a live DVD of the first California Jam concert performance from Deep Purple released in 2005. It was recorded and aired live by ABC-TV on 6 April 1974 at the Ontario Motor Speedway near Los Angeles, California. This concert was one of the first ever music concerts issued on videotape and laser disc in 1981 under the title California Jam in Japan and the UK. This is the first official release on DVD of the complete concert. "Lay Down, Stay Down" was not included on the original video release. The camera angles are also different from the original 1981 release, from which two songs are provided as bonus items. The first four songs are from the newly released album Burn. Other songs are from the Made in Japan setlist. "Smoke on the Water", "Space Truckin'" and also "Lazy" and "The Mule", which are played as intro and outro during "You Fool No One". Deep Purple continued to perform concerts worldwide, including an appearance at the 1974 'California Jam', a televised concert festival that also included many other prominent bands. At the moment Deep Purple were due to appear, Ritchie Blackmore locked himself in his dressing room and refused to go onstage. Previous performers had finished early, and it was still not sunset, the time at which the band had originally been scheduled to start. Blackmore felt this would dull the effect of the band's light show. After ABC brought in a sheriff to arrest him, Blackmore agreed to perform. At the culmination of the performance, he destroyed several of his guitars and threw one of his amplifier stacks off the edge of the stage. He also struck one of the ABC cameras five times with a guitar and, in recorded footage, can be seen arranging for his road crew to set off a pyrotechnic device in one of his amplifiers, creating a large fireball that was quickly extinguished. The band quickly exited the venue by helicopter, avoiding fire marshals, police officers and ABC executives.

Release Info

Artist: Deep Purple
Label: Eagle Records
Format: LP
Country: US
Label: Eagle Records
Released: 2021
Genre: Rock
Style: Hard Rock


A1 Burn
A2 Might Just Take Your Life
A3 Lay Down, Stay Down
B1 Mistreated
B2 Smoke On The Water
C1 You Fool No One
D1 Space Truckin'

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
Close (esc)

Join the herd

Subscribe to our newsletter and get 10% off your first purchase.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now