Skip to content

Bruce Dickinson - Skunkworks (2LP, Reissue)

Regular price $ 39.95

Shipping calculated at checkout

Ships within 10 business days.


Skunkworks is an alternative rock album released in 1996 by Iron Maiden frontman Bruce Dickinson. The singer had intended Skunkworks to be the debut album of a band by the same name. However, his label would not issue the record under any name other than Bruce Dickinson. The album moved from Maiden's progressive style to an alternative rock sound similar to bands such as Soundgarden, with lyrics about science and technology. Its name refers to the code name for a military testing program. It was produced by Jack Endino, best known for producing Nirvana's debut album Bleach. "I had this argument with [Maiden manager] Rod [Smallwood]," Dickinson recalled, "and he told me, 'You're a heavy metal singer. You can't change. You can try, but you're stuck with it.' I object to that… I don't mind being a heavy metal singer, but I object to anyone telling me I can't fucking change… Anyway, off we went into the Skunkworks thing… At the end of it all, I was gutted. I should have had a grunge career right then, because I was very angry, very disaffected and I was poor." Despite his musical evolution, the tour for the album was the first on which Dickinson included a song from his former band: a slightly reworked version of "The Prisoner." The band didn't last and, for his next solo project, Accident of Birth, Dickinson reunited with guitarist Roy Z (from Balls to Picasso). A 2005 rerelease of Skunkworks included previously unreleased songs, and the Skunkworks Live EP.

Release info

Label: Sanctuary Records BMGCAT109DLP
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue
Country: Europe
Released: 2017
Genre: Rock
Style: Heavy Metal


A1 Space Race
A2 Back From The Edge
A3 Inertia
B1 Faith
B2 Solar Confinement
B3 Dreamstate
B4 I Will Not Accept The Truth
C1 Inside The Machine
C2 Headswitch
C3 Meltdown
D1 Octavia
D2 Innerspace
D3 Strange Death In Paradise

Added to cart